Starting Plants

Flowers ion the trays - Spinach in the bucket

Flowers in the trays - Spinach in the bucket

I started some digitalis camelot on the first of March, and have since sowed some salvia blue bedder, knautia, craspedia, dianthus amazon, statice, and purple majesty millet.  I have a small greenhouse that I built last fall, and it has been nice to be able to work out there on cold, but sunny days.

Growing Under Lights

Growing Under Lights

.

.

.

.

.

The greenhouse isn’t heated, though, so most everything is actually growing under lights inside right now.

.

.

.

.

Light rack

.

.

I’m using plain old fluorescent shop lights in a shelf unit that I built last spring, and they seem to work just fine.  On each shelf, there are three lights going lengthwise, radiating their light waves down on four trays of plants.  The wooden boxes under each tray are handy for adjusting the distance from the lights.  This way, each tray can be adjusted  individually, rather than moving the lights up or down over all the trays at once.

Comments on: "Starting Plants" (2)

  1. Oh my gosh! I am such a dork…I grow all my starts on a shelf unit like yours but I move the LIGHTS up and down and it is a major pain due to trying to adjust those darned little hooks and chains, and I never, ever thought of moving the plants. Brilliant. :) I’ve really enjoyed your website on this raining, can’t play in the garden, morning. I’ve gotten lots of great ideas. I spent summers in Menominee, MI as a kid, the scenery in the photos is fun for me.

  2. thinmac said:

    I’m glad that something here helped, Barb. Thanks a lot for visiting and having nice things to say. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

